Buying Humans? – Empire Avenue


{EAV_BLOG_VER:2c105e56a8614c36}

Not quite buying humans, but investing in a social stock market, you buy shares in other social users who have linked their Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Flickr, Blogs and RSS feeds to their account.  Based on their social activity, their stock will rise and fall, as will your dividends and investments.

I still haven’t quite figured the whole thing out, such as, does my stock value rise with the amount of Twittering or posts that I have, or is it in the amount of investment others put into my stock value.  Apparently, like the NYSE and NASDAQ, share prices can fluctuate daily based upon social media and Empire Avenue interactions, but their is really no clear indication on how that works.

This social interaction game is VERY addicting though, as I have caught myself following my shares, and others.  You are able to put price alerts on other users to watch when their stocks either rise or drop past a certain level, and I have already caught myself frantically selling off shares on a poor investment, who I guessed had been very active at one point, but had not put any worthwhile posts on for a while.

Designed to mimic a stock market, it’s nearly as confusing. With a variety of complex choices and screens, its easy to get lost. Tom Ohle, Vice President of Marketing and Media Relations, admits that user experience can feel overwhelming at first and the startup is working on cleaning it up. This is great news, as the clutter of information is enough to rattle a newbie. At its core, Empire Avenue has three essential components, a game, a networking tool and a tool to measure social worth. – Purple Planet

Morbium on Empire Avenue

Morbium on Empire Avenue - Watch Me Rise

Each social network and online activity is different. Here are specifics on how we look at each network at this time:

  • Twitter: Activity on twitter, the audience of your tweets based on your followers and the quality of your followers (bots, for example, are low-quality followers), the reach and quality of your retweets and mentions.
  • Facebook: Activity on Facebook through posted updates and comments on your profile, the quality of your friends and their interaction with your postings and comments. We currently only poll updates posted to your Facebook Wall from Facebook or the Facebook iPhone app and the comments associated. This will change in the future.
  • Flickr: Your activity through posting photos, the connections you make with other Flickr users, their interaction with you on Flickr through comments and favourites.
  • Youtube: Your activity through posting videos, the connections you make with other Youtube users, their interaction with you on Youtube through comments and favourites.
  • Empire Avenue: Your activity on Empire Avenue excluding the specific acts of buying, selling and trading; user engagement with you on Empire Avenue including how they react to you, engage with you and the success of your advertising. – Empire Avenue

It may appear very confusing, but I do have to thank (e)LADYHARDCORE for turning me on to this, as it is a fun game. I’m getting a thrill seeing my stock rise. Empire Avenue may seem very intimidating at first, but there are tons of people online who are willing to help you along, and once you get the hang of it, it is very enjoyable.  I can hardly wait till an app gets released for my BlackBerry so I can check on the go.

About Geof Smith

A technology lover that has oozing thoughts. Blogger for Living Like A Boss (http://www.llaboss.com) and BlackBerry Empire (http://www.blackberryempire.com) View all posts by Geof Smith

6 responses to “Buying Humans? – Empire Avenue

  • paul smith handbags

    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • Morbium

      No problem at all Paul, I’m just using the hosted wordpress site, are you asking about which theme I’m using? I love WordPress cause it gives you more features, and is very comfortable for someone used to using editing software. Worpdress also connects to more sites.

      In regards to the theme, I’m using a free one that is offered, as WordPress offers TONS of free themes and it’s very easy to manipulate and manage. If you are going to host your own blog on another server, you’ll get tons more options, and ability to manipulate the CSS.

      Hope this help. 🙂

      M.

  • My Empire Avenue Strategy | eoghann.com

    […] Buying Humans? – Empire Avenue (morbium.wordpress.com) […]

  • Scott Wendling

    Great run down of EAv. Not to mention I’m sure it’s increased your comments and traffic. I’ve noticed the more I engage with people from EAv the more traffic I get.

Leave a Reply

